PS3-3 : Renforcer l’équité et l’impact des partenariats de recherche

Contexte :
Le but de cette session est d'aller au-delà des appels à "des partenariats de recherche entre institutions/pays à revenu élevé 'justes' et 'équitables' ".

Elle présentera les deux (seuls) outils pratiques encourageant la création et la conduite de partenariats de recherche justes et responsables. Elle donnera également la parole à deux acteurs clés, représentant une organisation internationale et un pays africain, qui ont chacun été pionniers dans l'utilisation de la RFI (Research Fairness Initiative). Ils décriront la value ajoutée de la RFI et aborderont la mise en oeuvre de leurs propres initiatives.

Les "11 principes et 7 questions" de la KPFE (Commission pour le partenariat scientifique avec les pays en développement) fournissent un cadre de principes et pratiques du "bon partenariat" qui se concentre sur les collaborations de recherche entre le "Nord global" et le "Sud global" et qui a été développé sur ving ans. Les "11 principes et 7 questions" sont bien connus en Suisse et dans plusieurs organisations internationales mais ils le sont moins ailleurs. Depuis peu, des organismes de financement de la recherche s'intéressent de plus en plus au Guide de la KFPE dans la perspective d'un financement responsable de la recherche.

La “Research Fairness Initiative (RFI)” du COHRED (Council of Health Research for Development) est un système organisationnel de reporting pour toutes les parties prenantes de la recherche (services gouvernementaux, agences nationales, institutions de recherche académiques, secteur privé, secteur non-lucratif). Un rapport institutionnel de la RFI explique clairement comment les partenariats de recherche sont conduits, quelles politiques et pratiques sont en place, et comment les bénéfices, les coûts et les résultats sont partagés. Le reporting est organisé autour des 15 domaines les plus importants pour des partenariats de recherche justes et de qualité. Les organisations membres contribuent et ont accès au site Internet de la RFI et aux directives et guides de bonnes pratiques qui y sont recensés, y compris ceux de la KFPE. Les rapports de la RFI sont validés pour une période de deux ans, ils mettent l'accent sur la manière d'améliorer la conduite du partenariat à court-terme.

Les synergies entre les directives de la RFI et de la KFPE sont évidentes : au moment d'établir le rapport de la RFI, les institutions sont informées des directives de la KFPE (et d'autres) - et sont encouragées à adhérer à au moins une d'entre elles de manière à les guider. Dans cet esprit, la RFI constitue à la fois "un instrument de vérification en amont" et "un outil de conformité", faisant la promotion et encourageant l'application des législations, politiques, directives et pratiques en vigueur destinées à optimiser les partenariats de recherche.

 

Intervenants :

Beran DavidChairmanHUGSwitzerland
Lys Jon-AndriThe 11 Principles and 7 Questions: some lessons learnt in intercultural research partnershipsSwiss Commission for Research Partnerships with Developing Countries (KFPE)Switzerland
IJsselmuiden CarelThe Research Fairness Initiative (RFI)COHREDSwitzerland
Dia Tine Soukèye RFI Implementation in Senegal – early lessons at national and institutional levelsMinistry of Higher Education and ResearchSenegal
Terry RobertRFI Implementation by WHO/TDR – added value, lessons on implementationWHO/TDRSwitzerland

 

Liens :

PS : Parallel session PS-3 : Health actor

PS3-3 : Increasing fairness and impact of research partnerships

Purpose of this session is to go beyond calls that ‘research partnerships between high income countries/institutions and low & middle income countries/institutions should be ‘fair’ and ‘equitable’.

This session presents (the only) two pragmatic tools encouraging the creation and maintenance of responsible and fair research partnerships – and gives voice to two key people representing an international organization and an African country, respectively, who pioneered the use of the RFI. They will describe the added value of the RFI and discuss the implementation in their respective situations.

The “11 Principles and 7 Questions” of KPFE [full name] provide a set principles and practices of ‘good partnership’ focusing on research collaborations between the ‘global North’ and ‘global South’ that has been developed over 20 years. Stakeholders need to interpret these guidelines and questions to their specific collaborations – so there is no ‘golden standard’ to measure partnerships against. The “11 Principles and 7 Questions” are well known in Switzerland and in some international organisations but less so elsewhere. More recently, research funders are becoming more interested in the KFPE Guidelines as part of responsible research funding.

The “Research Fairness Initiative (RFI)” of COHRED is an organizational reporting system for all research stakeholders (government departments, national agencies, research and academic institutions, business, non-profits). An institutional RFI Report makes explicit how research collaborations are managed, what policies and practices are in place, and how benefits, costs and outcomes are shared. Reporting is done on the 15 key areas that matter most to quality and fairness in research partnerships. RFI Reporting Organisations contribute to and have access to the RFI Web, in which existing guidelines and best practices are listed – including those of the KFPE. RFI Reports are validated for a 2 year period, and the focus of reporting is on how to improve partnership management over the short-term.

The synergy between the RFI and the KFPE Guidelines are clear: in the process of completing the RFI Report, institutions will become aware of the KFPE Guidelines (and others) – and are encouraged to adhere to one or more of these to guide institutional conduct. In this sense, the RFI is both a ‘due diligence instrument’ and a ‘compliance tool’ promoting awareness and implementation of existing legislations, policies, guidelines and practices aimed at optimizing research partnerships.



Beran DavidChairmanHUGSwitzerland
Lys Jon-AndriThe 11 Principles and 7 Questions: some lessons learnt in intercultural research partnershipsSwiss Commission for Research Partnerships with Developing Countries (KFPE)Switzerland
IJsselmuiden CarelThe Research Fairness Initiative (RFI)COHREDSwitzerland
Dia Tine Soukèye RFI Implementation in Senegal – early lessons at national and institutional levelsMinistry of Higher Education and ResearchSenegal
Terry RobertRFI Implementation by WHO/TDR – added value, lessons on implementationWHO/TDRSwitzerland



PS : Parallel session PS-3 : Health actor